RSS

What Do You Mean It’s November?

10 Nov

The days, weeks, months have flown by; it’ll be 2013 before we know it. *le sigh*

So what have I been up to that’s kept me away from you, faithful reader(s)? Well, besides end-of-year busyness at work, updating Rose Red’s website, not responding well to daylight savings*, and a trip away for a relative’s wedding, not a great deal of reading.

We’ve progressed a little further in The Last Battle, and it continues to be fairly depressing and not-bedtime-story-ish. A lot of the religious/political allegory is too on-the-nose to make for an enjoyable read.

Harry is in stasis. It doesn’t seem to have hurt him so far. I think he’s quite happy to put off his next torturous detention with Umbridge.

I’ve been enjoying a book my brother lent me called “The First 50 Pages”. It’s about how to start your novel well so that readers/publishers/agents/etc. don’t throw it away after reading the first chapter/page. Lots of good advice that I’d mostly encountered before in one form or another, but coherently organised and with good examples and explanations that help make the concepts more concrete.

I’ve also been having great and deep ponderings on the topic of morality (inspired by the strangest of things, but then that’s how my mind works), but I’ll save that for a later post. (It will probably be loooong.)

* I recall someone in my family remarking that whichever party abolishes daylight savings had their vote.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on November 10, 2012 in General, Harry Potter, Narnia

 

One response to “What Do You Mean It’s November?

  1. T Edmund Jenkin

    November 11, 2012 at 9:54 am

    Looking forward to that Looooong post 😉

     

Leave a Reply

