RSS

Order of the … meh

01 Jul

It’s the book I haven’t been looking forward to, and the one that I’m not making much progress in. As has been commented by many, Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix involves shouty-teenage-angst!Harry. While it’s a remarkably accurate portrayal of the character of a 15-year-old boy, I don’t generally enjoy teenage angst (a mixture of irritation at their ignorance and/or immaturity, and embarrassment at remembering I was similarly obnoxious at that age).

Harry is justifiably peeved at the start of the book, having been shut up in “Durskaban” (as I saw it dubbed… somewhere, I don’t recall); unlike Chamber of Secrets where he was getting no mail at all (courtesy of Dobby, the mad house-elf), the only letters he has from his friends are focused on the fact that they cannot say much – security don’cha know. Thus giving him the impression that they’re involved in exciting, clandestine activities, the sort of which are his bread and butter, rather than being mushrooms in a top-secret location.

But however justified his ire, Harry responds by needling, provoking, and out-right attacking both those he dislikes, and his best friends. Already, I’m discouraged from spending time reading about him repeatedly throwing his toys out of the cot, especially when I have (or am motivated to find) more interesting things to do.

All of which comes across as very grumpy myself. I’m not really, I’m quite relaxed and reasonably happy (though I look forward to Rose Red getting over the lurgi); I just have issues about this book.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 1, 2012 in Harry Potter

 

2 responses to “Order of the … meh

  1. Aurelia Myrddin

    July 2, 2012 at 3:06 am

    If Harry was lashing out at me, like he did to Ron and Hermione at the beginning of the book, I would’ve smacked him upside his head. Kudos to his friends for being so patient lol.

     
    • knightowl

      July 2, 2012 at 9:47 am

      They are remarkably patient with him. Perhaps they can understand his frustrations, but it also seems like Ron’s reluctant to argue given their falling-out the previous year, and Hermione’s a bit scared of Harry. Fortunately there’s someone else to give him a much-needed boot up the backside later…

       

Leave a Reply

