RSS

Literarily bogged down

07 Apr

Yikes. It’s clearly been a busy year, as I haven’t read much from my list (though, oddly, I’ve probably read a lot of other stuff). Only seven reviews from the past year – just barely squeaking in under 2-months each.

That said, I’ve read a fair amount of other stuff: Lady Susan; Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy; Scribble scribble scribble (a collection of writings by Simon Schama – which took a lot of getting through); Snuff; and probably one or two others that I can’t recall. I’ve also nearly finished The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe, and got about halfway through Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire.

Recently I’ve also been reading a couple of (for want of a better term) self-help books, entitled “What the heck am I going to do with my life? (Find your place in this world)” – which I’ve read most of – and “The Happiness Project (Or, Why I Spent a Year Trying to Sing in the Morning, Clean My Closets, Fight Right, Read Aristotle, and Generally Have More Fun)”* – which I’m only a quarter of the way through, but am enjoying.

So, some of the goals of the blog seem to be reasonably successful: I am reading, and (usually) enjoying it; I am reading a bit more diversely; and I am reading books that I believe to be beneficial (i.e. well-written and prone to making you think). I’m just not getting very far with The List(TM).

The other thing I haven’t been doing much of is updating the blog. There’s some alarming gaps between posts that have made me consider why I’m doing this (I’m trying to listen to my own advice): I want to write more, and the blog was intended to keep me on task with reading more widely. I’m still pondering what to do about this, but I think what might help is trying to post regularly regardless (say once a week) and see how that goes. What I’m certainly not about to do is stop. Hopefully, there’s still someone reading while I struggle on. šŸ™‚

* Yes, there is a heck of a lot of writing on the front cover, between the title, author, “#1 New York Times Bestseller”, critic quote, and “Start your own Happiness Project – guide inside”. Not to mention that the book itself is 300-odd pages of very small text – leading Rose Red to complain about needing a magnifying glass.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on April 7, 2012 in General

 

One response to “Literarily bogged down

  1. T Edmund Jenkin

    April 8, 2012 at 11:38 am

    Good idea on regular posting, your next challenge will be resisted the temptation to just blog, rather than read

     

Leave a Reply

