RSS

Still Alive*

31 Jan

« Prev   Next »

In which the author reveals some of his hobbies.

Well, a belated happy new year to my reading audience (all three of you). It’s been an interesting month. Besides work starting up again, I’ve also resumed Tai Chi classes after a long sabbatical, and thus feel terribly inept and uncoordinated. Otherwise I have spent most of my time with the world’s greatest detective.

No, not Sherlock Holmes. Batman.

You see, Rose Red did a great and terrible thing and gave me Arkham Asylum. My free time promptly mysteriously vanished (solve that one, Sherlock…).

So anyway, I have eventually returned Holmesward, and been experiencing an odd sense of familiarity. I’m sure I’ve never read these adventures before (I’d only read Hound of the Baskervilles), and I didn’t know the answers before Sherlock revealed them, yet it all seems like somewhere I’ve been before. Maybe I have read some of them back in the distant and forgotten past? Maybe I’ve seen Jeremy Brett act some of them out? Rose Red suggests that maybe elements of the stories have become mystery cliches, hence the sense of deja-vu.

I don’t really know. I do know that I’m enjoying reading them.

* This was a triumph…

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 31, 2011 in Adventures of Sherlock Holmes

 

2 responses to “Still Alive*

  1. rainymondaymorning

    February 1, 2011 at 12:06 am

    Yay! You’re still alive! Congratulations.

    I must admit, on Sunday mornings I frequently forget how old I’m supposed to be and I curl up on the couch with a bowl of Cocoa Pops and watch Batman cartoons in my pjs. I fully support your choice for Batman over Holmes.

    Though have you seen the Steve Moffat adaption of Holmes? Very good, very, very good.

     
  2. Alison Jenkin

    February 1, 2011 at 8:21 am

    I never doubted it! There have been so many adaptations of Sherlock Holmes that you will not have been able to avoid seeing them on TV throughout your lifetime. Sometimes these are more believable than the original

     

Leave a Reply

