RSS

Tough vampire

07 Jun

« Prev   Next »

It’s nice to have a weekend off and be able to relax and catch up on some reading. I am finding Dracula hard going, though. Generally, I read fiction for entertainment – the traditional “relax and be transported to another world” type of thing. For this to work, however, the “other world” must be a place that you want to go to.

Dracula’s is not.

Sure, it’s very well written, the characters have distinct and meaningful voices, there is the feeling of wanting to know what happens next… but it’s not fun. The book drips with an undercurrent of menace; threat; ‘orrible fings inna darkness. It’s tiring to read (and not in a “I can’t sleep – I know, I’ll read my Stats textbook” way).

My conclusion is that I don’t really like the horror genre, or at least that I have to be in the right mindset to deal with it. Dracula isn’t actually very gory – a lot of nastiness happens “off-camera”, as it were, but you know it’s going on. The characters are progressively worried, anxious, fearful, terrified. As someone who tends to be affected by the mood of the environment I’m in, this can be rather unpleasant.

Lest I give the wrong impression, I should point out that I am not giving up. I’m just thinking “aloud” to help myself understand why I’m not finding the book engrossing.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 7, 2010 in Dracula

 

Leave a Reply

