RSS

What’s this all about?

02 Apr

Next »

You may have seen a list of 100 books doing the rounds on Facebook. It purports to be from the BBC who claim that most people have read no more than 6. In light of this, my score of 20-odd seemed pretty decent, until I did some digging. Turns out it has nothing to do with the BBC – it’s from an online poll for World Book Day where

“2,000 people who took part in the poll online at worldbookday.com nominated their top 10 titles that they could not live without”.

So, it’s a top 100 list as voted by … people, with a built-in high-score mechanism to appeal to people’s competitive side.

My interest was certainly piqued. I like to read, but I’m not good at finding things to read; this list could solve my “what do I read now?” dilemma for quite some time (assuming a couple of weeks per book, about 4 years). It also gives me a goal, useful for dispelling existential angst, but it’s a private goal. Hence this blog.

I’m going to read my way through this top 100 list (or one very like it), and post thoughts, comments, and the odd book review. Hopefully this will be entertaining. If not, at least I have the illusion of an audience to keep me going. I don’t guarantee I will finish every book, but I will try to. There’s no specific time limit – as I said, it could take about 4 years – but I should at least be adding something every couple of weeks.

So that’s my goal. You’re welcome to share the journey.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on April 2, 2010 in About this blog

 

3 responses to “What’s this all about?

  1. Emma

    April 10, 2010 at 6:41 pm

    Great idea! I have thought of doing the same thing, but never got around to it and resort to my “selecting a variety of books at random” at the library… usually I pick terrible ones though! I’ll try to remember to check your blog. Good luck 🙂

     
  2. Tom

    April 10, 2010 at 6:44 pm

    Cool, I’ll watch 🙂

    After all, if I read your blog while you read them, then it’s only one layer of indirection from reading them myself. Nice and efficient.

     
  3. Carol Wyvill

    September 26, 2011 at 10:20 am

    This is awesome. I’m not only going to watch, I’m going to copycat! I’ve always meant to work my way through a serious reading list.

    Carol

     

Leave a Reply

